Variations in C Major, Haydn

sku# 224
Variations in C Major
Variations in C Major


The works in this volume show the development of keyboard instruments in an exemplary manner: the early works were intended for harpsichord, two of which were for an instrument with the so-called “Viennese bass octave,” which enabled the musician to play chords larger than a hand span with one hand. In our edition, these passages have footnotes with suggestions on how to play them. The pianoforte was the inspiration behind the later works. Haydn was also happy to arrange his own compositions for piano, as with the “Largo assai” from the “Reiterquartett.” Christine Schornsheim, a specialist in historical performance practice, provided fingerings for this completely revised and extended Urtext edition.

Series: Henle Music Folios
Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Format: Softcover
Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Editor: Sonja Gerlach
Recommended Products
GP395 This collection of six Haydn sonatas reveal Haydn as an intermediate level composer early in his career. This book is great for advancing intermediate students. Kjos Music C


View Details

50327360 This book includes 60 piano pieces that are great for advancing piano students. Hal Leonard


View Details

GP390 This unique new collection contains the most appropriate and popular selections for the intermediate pianist's introduction to Frederic Chopin Kjos Music C


View Details